A helpful list for a moral life

The Five moral precepts

  • Refrain from taking life. Not killing any living being. D if you count food.
  • Refrain from taking what is not given. Not stealing from anyone. OK.
  • Refrain from the misuse of the senses. Not having too much sensual pleasure. …a work in progress
  • Refrain from wrong speech. Not lying or gossiping about other people. Trying hard.
  • Refrain from intoxicants that cloud the mind. Ooops. My GPA just dropped.

That puts me as a D or F student as I scored somewhere around 60%. I love a good steak with a beer, sake and sashimi, or any other non-pork delicacy. I had my days back in the day with the shimmee princesses of main street. I am peace with the Beast as described by Socrates. But those weaknesses cost me at least 40% to the total possible points. That’s just being honest in my case. We’re not perfect, especially me. I’m far from being an A student. It’s a process. I got the full 20% on a couple of them but fail in some categories.

With imperfection as the paradigm, from the CulaHatthipadopama-sutta, the “Lesser Discourse on the Simile of the Elephant’s Footprints”, details the journey of mindful consciousness [23]

  1. Dhammalsaddhalpabbajja: A layman hears a Buddha teach the Dhamma, comes to have faith in him, and decides to take ordination as a monk;
  2. sila: He adopts the moral precepts;
  3. indriyasamvara: He practises “guarding the six sense-doors”;
  4. sati-sampajanna: He practises mindfulness and self-possession (actually described as mindfulness of the body, kāyānussatti);
  5. jhana 1: He finds an isolated spot in which to meditate, purifies his mind of the hindrances (nwarana), and attains the first rupa-jhana;
  6. jhana 2: He attains the second jhana;
  7. jhana 3: He attains the third jhana;
  8. jhana 4: He attains the fourth jhana;
  9. pubbenivasanussati-nana: he recollects his many former existences in samsara;
  10. sattanam cutupapata-nana: he observes the death and rebirth of beings according to their karmas;
  11. dsavakkhaya-nana: He brings about the destruction of the dsavas (cankers), and attains a profound realization of (as opposed to mere knowledge about) the four noble truths;
  12. vimutti: He perceives that he is now liberated, that he has done what was to be done.

Quite a phenomenal journey one can follow. Once in a while I inch my way up the list but always start over and have a beginner’s mentality.

Published by iefilmmaker

I am a filmmaker, teacher, and consultant, based in Los Angeles, California. I am working on projects and assignments worldwide. Please visit my website (www.anthonycollinsfilm.com) to consider my creative, scholarly, and professional work as Producer, Writer, Editor and Director.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: